I saw three ships come sailing…

If you’re familiar with the song – there are only 170 days left ’til Christmas, but I’m getting ahead of myself.

The ships I saw were of the feathered variety. The Swallow-tailed Kites are back for their summer breeding season. I wrote a post some months back about the Alien Sighting. I spotted one this past weekend and before I could blink, there were three. The thing that grabs your eye is how large these birds are, and they sail on the air currents with no obvious wing flapping. I stood mesmerized, watching them swirl around like water in an eddy.

Swallow-tailed Kite
Swallow-tailed Kite

Maybe it IS Christmas in July… on Monday I saw a hummingbird (first time EVER in my yard). They aren’t so common here, but low and behold one was hovering near my Parrot Plant.

Parrot Plant (heliconia psittacorum)
Parrot Plant (heliconia psittacorum)

You get a picture of the plant, the bird…too fast for me. Moving right along…

Well, we finally finished the dog! Not to be equated with the week after Thanksgiving when you proudly announce that you’ve ‘finally finished the turkey’. (p.s. only 140 days ’til Thanksgiving)

In the wild and wacky world of show dogs and dog shows, ‘finishing the dog’ means we have a new Champion.

New Champion with our breeder/handler and Judge
New Champion with our breeder/handler and Judge

Gosh, he looks so sweet, and clean in the picture. Who could imagine that he is attracted to black dirt, mud, and loves to dig holes in the back yard?

If I had more time, I would regale you with my latest new job…working for the feds. But I have to head out to my current job. I’m working off my 2 weeks notice, so I’ll have to leave you with something to look forward to 🙂

5 thoughts on “I saw three ships come sailing…

Share your thoughts!

