Orchid Fever

β€œMany collectors died in process of searching for new species, and despite persistent reports that the men died from drowning, gunshot and knife wounds, snakebite, trampling by cattle, or blows in the head with blunt instruments, it is generally accepted that in each case the primary cause of death was orchid fever.”

Eric Hansen

Sharing some of my bloomers πŸ™‚

Psycopsis Mariposa "Green Valley" Day 1
Psycopsis Mariposa “Green Valley” Day 1
Day 2
Day 2
Day 3
Day 3
Day 4, fully opened
Day 4, fully opened

Psy. Mariposa is called the Butterfly Orchid, because to many, it resembles a butterfly, but to me I see a Japanese Samurai Warrior. I like my interpretation better πŸ™‚

Samurai Warriors
Samurai Warriors
Psychopsis Mariposa is a sequential bloomer on the same spike for up to 10 + years.
Psychopsis Mariposa is a sequential bloomer on the same spike for up to 10 + years.

The spike continues to lengthen with each bloom, which lasts about 1-2 months. When the bloom falls off, another begins to develop. The spike on this one is 27 inches.

Other bloomers:

Dendrobium Burana Jade. One of my 'rescues'
Dendrobium Burana Jade. Mild fragrance. One of my ‘rescues’.
Lc. Tropical Pointer "Cheetah"
Lc. Tropical Pointer “Cheetah”. Sweet fragrance, like roses.

Most of my orchids are in their growth phase, but I expect lots of blooms in the fall and winter months. I guess I have a touch of ‘orchid fever’ πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Orchid Fever

  1. Thank you! I have the hardest time getting my phalaenopsis to re-bloom. I think it’s the amount of light. Most of my orchids are rescues from Lowe’s, so I’m always thrilled when they do bloom πŸ™‚

    Like

Share your thoughts!

