Alien sighting!

When I’m outside, I spend an inordinate amount of time looking up. Ummm, I live in Florida, it’s flat.

Craning necks in the flat lands
Craning necks in the flat lands

If I lived in the mountains, I would probably spend more time looking down 😯

Giving my neck a rest when I was on vacation in Utah last summer
Giving my neck a rest when I was on vacation in Utah last summer

I don’t believe that aliens are going to walk up and tap you on the shoulder, so if you’re going to spot one, they’re going to be up in the wild, blue yonder or under the cover of darkness, in some instances. I spotted this particular alien twice in the last week, between 9:00 – 9:30 AM. To say the least, I am in awe! By the way, this alien has been spotted before, so I was able to find a picture on the internet…

Swallow-tailed Kite
Swallow-tailed Kite (Raptor Family)

I have lived in Florida all of my life, and never before have I seen one of these birds. They are huge! According to what I’ve found on the internet, their body is usually about 22 inches long, and their wingspan can get up to 4 feet. They live in South America, and migrate to the gulf coast states to breed annually. They’re supposed to live in wetlands and marshes, so what he’s doing in my area is a mystery.

Habitat and range of the Swallow-tailed Kite
Habitat and range of the Swallow-tailed Kite

If you want to learn more about this magnificent alien, here is the link: The Cornell Lab of Ornithology: All About Birds

3 thoughts on “Alien sighting!

Share your thoughts!

